alternative to Nobel: Right Livelihood Awards to be announced Sept 29


— On Mon, 9/19/11, Right Livelihood Award <> wrote:

From: Right Livelihood Award <>
Subject: Right Livelihood Awards to be announced Sept 29
To: “2 – press” <>
Date: Monday, September 19, 2011, 7:22 PM

Email not displaying properly? Click here to view it in your browser
Award Laureates Propose a Candidate Support the Award
The Rightlivelihood Award
Press Release September 19th
2011 Right Livelihood Awards to be announced on September 29th

The Right Livelihood Award Foundation will announce its 2011 Laureates at a press conference in the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ Press Room, Stockholm, on September 29th at 10 am CET.

The Award, often referred to as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, recognises the work of some of the world’s most courageous and inspiring people. One in four of its past recipients is under threat because their work for positive change challenges powerful interests.

Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director, and Monika Griefahn, Co-Chair and member of the Jury of the Foundation, will be present at the press conference to announce the new Award recipients and to answer your questions.

This year, the number of nominations reached a new record: 123 proposals from 59 countries, out of which 54 candidates are from “developing” countries.

Laureates are recognised for their dedication to ecological, social and political causes. The prize money in 2010 was 50,000 € for each of the four recipients and is used for ongoing successful work.

Date & Place of Announcement

Press conference: Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Press Room
Address: Fredsgatan 4-6, Stockholm (Journalist ID required)
Time: 29 September 2011, 10.00 am CET

Time: 29 September 2011, 10.00 am CET


The Right Livelihood Award was founded in 1980 by Jakob von Uexkull, who contributed the original funding. Since then, the Award has been supported by individual donors. Its aim is “to honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges facing us today”.

Today, there are 141 Laureates from 59 countries. For statistics about the Prize, please click here.

Previous Laureates include: Daniel Ellsberg (USA), Vandana Shiva (India), Wangari Maathai (Kenya) and Ken Saro-Wiwa (Nigeria).

The Award will be presented at a ceremony in the Swedish Parliament on December 5, 2011, at 6 pm hosted by the Society for the Right Livelihood Award in the Swedish Parliament. A press conference with the 2011 Laureates will take place the same day at 9.30 am.


Birgit Jaeckel, Communications Consultant;
Kajsa Övergaard, Foundation Manager
Phone: +46 8 70 20 340, Fax: +46 8 70 20 338
Cell phone: +49 170 24 49 348

For UK media:
UK Press Office
Deepa Vyas
+44 (0) 207 378 1234

For German, Austrian and Swiss media:
Holger Michel
+49 (0)30 23 63 48 83
+49 (0)178 662 36 79

You are receiving this e-mail because you subscribed to the Right Livelihood Award Newsletter
If you wish to unsubscribe from our e-news, please click here

The Right Livelihood Award Foundation
PO Box 15072, 104 65 Stockholm, Sweden
Phone: +46 (0) 8 702 03 40 or 702 03 39; Fax: +46 (0)8 702 03 38

About preetlari

"Preetlari", Punjab's magazine established in 1933 and published from Preetnagar, Dist. Amritsar. S. Gurbaksh Singh founded the magazine and also the model village, Preetnagar. The magazine is running in its 78th year and since last year is being taken by nearly 20000 primary and upper primary schools of Punjab ,too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s